Fuel Economy & Emissions Talk about the mileage database, EPA, hypermiling, gas and driving strategy.

Hypermiling is truly a team effort …

Search this Thread

Old 12-21-2005, 10:25 AM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast
Default Hypermiling is truly a team effort …

--

Last edited by xcel; 12-02-2007 at 04:34 PM.
Old 04-06-2006, 02:03 PM
04 prius 350,000km
Default Re: Hypermiling is truly a team effort …

try to find routes that allow you to go down more than up EVEN IF its farther to boot, momentum is free gas is not.

Old 04-06-2006, 02:24 PM
Engineering first

Originally Posted by xcel
. . .Carl, a friend of mine from work posted he had found a new route in his Prius II’s tank notes. While heading down the Interstate (I-55 Northbound) the other night, I saw his HID’s lighting up the Frontage Road to the side. I have been traveling this commute for over 6 years and have only been on the Frontage roads for a few minutes and usually when forced onto them because of traffic accidents and such. Anyway, here I am at 60 + mph and the Coolant temp has not even moved off the C pin while receiving maybe 20 mpg at best The next evening, I asked him about the new route and how it was helping. Low and behold, there is some help in his Prius as well as my own vehicles now. In the summer, both Carl and I can usually hit the Interstate (~ 1.5 miles away from work) with everything hot and ready to go. In the winter months, not a chance. What he was doing was using (2) slower speed Frontage roads as a spring board to keep his FE up by traveling at 30 - 40 mph during warm up vs. 55 + over ~ 5 miles of Interstate. Low and behold, it works!. . .
Hi Wayne,

Scroll down in my Prius page and you'll see how I've mapped the various routes:

http://hiwaay.net/~bzwilson/prius/