Fuel Economy & Emissions Talk about the mileage database, EPA, hypermiling, gas and driving strategy.

Inclined Driving- Your Gas Saving Methods

Search this Thread

Old 05-01-2005, 12:28 PM
Prius <3r
Question Inclined Driving- Your Gas Saving Methods

So, along my commute I have a 3 mile climb in each direction and it gets pretty steep, I was wondering what way to approach hills and/or mountains, or what ways do you use? Basically what I'm asking is do you accelerate up the hill/mountain as quickly as possible burning more gas for less time or do you accelerate slowly burning less gas for more time? I'm sure that you could perform some sort of mathematical equation for this, but I'm no mathematician, so I'll leave this to someone who wishes to figure it out. Any tips, tricks or otherwise?

Old 05-01-2005, 12:45 PM
Site Founder
Default Re: Inclined Driving- Your Gas Saving Methods

I'm no expert on this, but because of the way HSD works, your battery will recharge on the way down. So, it's likely most efficient to go ahead and use that battery on the way up and not force the engine to charge it as you're going. I would use significant power going up, using both the engine and motor outputs. If your battery drains, who cares? At least you won't throw out the extra energy once the battery fills up going down.

Old 05-01-2005, 03:31 PM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast

I have lots of these challenges for my daily drive in my HCH.

First, I make sure that I'm going a pretty good speed as the hill begins. I might take 2-3 miles or more to gradually increase my speed to the base.
Basically speaking, I let her slow down on the way up.
Before I begin the hill I'll decide the minimum speed required at the top. Often times the current traffic condition plays a big part in that decision.