Fuel Economy & Emissions Talk about the mileage database, EPA, hypermiling, gas and driving strategy.

Not satisfied

Search this Thread

Old 11-16-2004, 02:53 PM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast

Drive without brakes....that's a good analogy.
BTW
I wish there were a way for us to activate the regen without the use of mechanical brakes at all, for those few times when only a slight slowdown is required.

Wonder if possibly a brake light switch mod may be possible?

Old 12-20-2004, 10:51 AM
Enthusiast

I just posted a question similar to Larry's before I read all these wonderful advices!!!

Well, I guess I will try those with my new civic too. I am a little bit frustrated doing 36 to 37 MPG only, but my hybrid just hit 6000 last week, and I am still learning how to drive better.

So besides the increase of air pressure and the syntetic oil, How can I gain speed on a green light without seeing my gauge indicate below 10 MPG on those critical seconds? When I tried to keep it up, at least over the 20MPG it seems I am driving my bike or like you said, a "granny style"... Anyway, should I go faster so I can remove my foot of the accelerator soon and see the gauge go to the 30-40-50's or should I never see the blue IMA bar and start slow (even though it will never indicate a good economy rate on those initial times..)???

Thank you all for the advices!

Still learning,

Mauricio

PS - Civic Hybrid, Live in Las Vegas, Drive every day from East to West to work about 20 miles light up hill and back (light down hill), yes we use AC (We have to). Previous car (Already gone) Mazda MPV minivan.

Old 12-20-2004, 01:11 PM

Steve,
I remember reading on InsightCentral that someone figured out a way to trip the sensor that activated the brake light and that caused regen to kick in. The system may be the same on the HCH.
Cheers,
Steven

Old 12-20-2004, 02:36 PM

Hmmmm....
Thanks Stevo, I'll have to look into that.

Old 12-27-2004, 10:58 AM
Enthusiast