Fuel Economy & Emissions Talk about the mileage database, EPA, hypermiling, gas and driving strategy.

Obsessed with the MPG gauge?

Old 08-12-2004, 11:11 AM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast

Sorry lars-ss
I didn't mean to get unpleasant with those who are driving carefully.

I think it would be informative if we could swap cars.
Of course, that ain't gonna happen.
So I was considering driving "normally" for one tank, or for 1 day maybe.
For me this will be harder to do than dressing up in drag for a day.
It just is not me.

But it may be interesting since I am getting some of the best numbers for the HCH.

Old 08-12-2004, 11:18 AM

I was not offended or bothered AT ALL - I'm just fairly new to this Hybrid world and I too am just trying to understand everything that goes along with this type of car.

Would I LOVE to get 60+ MPG? Of course I would. But I see no way unless my commute changed to something that involved long, uninterrupted highway drives.

Anyone getting in the high 50s in a combination of hwy and city driving - that's just incredible to me, seeing that I have not seen higher than 47.9 on my trip computer at any point in the first month of owning the car.

I guess my goal is to just find out if there is anything I can do to extend my MPG, and to confirm that all these people getting low MPG do not have problems with their cars. I am still not convinced that the cars getting lower MPG might have something wrong with either the software or the hardware in the car's computer. I work in the computer industry, so I have seen the WEIRD things that S/W and H/W glitches can do.

Laterz........

Old 08-12-2004, 11:24 AM

lars-ss,
Please let me include that environment will dictate to some degree driving style. In my case I leave for work at 4:30PM, heading into the city while the bulk of traffic is going out, which makes a nice ride and convienient for good MPG.
The same when I leave work to nearly abandoned freeways at 2:00AM.