Fuel Economy & Emissions Talk about the mileage database, EPA, hypermiling, gas and driving strategy.

Total newbie!

Search this Thread

Old 04-06-2007, 09:45 AM
Enthusiast
Smile Total newbie!

Hi everyone,

My husband and I just bought a 99 Japanese import Prius yesterday, and so far we really love it. I was looking at the wikipedia entry for the Prius a minute ago and noticed a mention of hypermiling, which led me here! This is the first hybrid I've ever owned or driven, and I would love some general tips and advice, specifically about hypermiling, I would love to know if that's something I could easily do. Oh and I live in England, in case that has any relevance!

Old 04-06-2007, 10:18 AM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast
Default Re: Total newbie!

Welcome to the forum! And congratulations on the new car. A classic Prius- that's so cool! I'm not sure we have many people from England on the forum, so you're particularly welcome. We love hearing from different points of view.

There is a great deal of information here about the things you mention. You might want to start with the Prius FAQ for some hypermiling tips, and certainly search through the threads, because this is a question that someone asks and answers about once a day. Give yourself a pat on the back for the brilliant car purchase, while you're at it.

Best wishes and good luck!

Old 04-06-2007, 10:33 AM
Enthusiast

Is 'classic' just a nice way of saying 'you're so poor you had to buy an old one'? lol either way, thanks! Are the 99s more lacking in features than newer ones? Also, one thing we noticed is that it didn't come with a user's manual! Either the dealership still has it, or it's in Japan somewhere lol. Don't suppose there's an online version? Oh and where can I find the Prius FAQ? That sounds like it would be really helpful. Considering that I understand essentially nothing about cars, the technology still has me a tiny bit baffled. Anyway, thanks for the warm welcome!

Old 04-06-2007, 01:30 PM