44.2 MPG on first tank! Too good to be true?

Search this Thread

Old 07-19-2007, 08:35 AM
Enthusiast
Thumbs up 44.2 MPG on first tank! Too good to be true?

Hi!
I am new to Green Hybrid, so im still trying to learn the ropes of this forum! I have a question for all you people out there; is it possible to get 44.2 on the first tank of gas? The car had 87 miles on the odometer when i reset the mileage, leaving the dealership. The average is 32 for most people, now i admit i am driving extremely carefully, but still, i was shocked. The onboard Navi said 38.3MPG, but when my father and I manually calculated some numbers after we gassed it up, it came out 44.2MPG... ill show u
1.87miles (exactly) on the odometer
At the gas station it read 638.3 Miles on the odometer
638.3 - 87 = 551.3 Miles on the odometer
The tank said it had 30 miles to E, but when i filled the tank, (NOT TOPPING OFF) it only took 12.471 gallons of gasoline
The Tank was filled by the dealership (past the F on the gauge) when we first got it less than a week ago. The driving has been a mix of highway but more City, and some of my techniques are as follows

-Be in EV alot

-SLOW accelerations

-Highway speeds at 55 - 58 mph, --> RPM's at 1.5

To sum it up, is this too good to be true?!

Thanks!!
- Eric Ricci

(if the above pic of the reciept doesnt work, use this link)

http://www.flickr.com/photos/10233165@N05/852597806/

Last edited by JRicci8996; 07-19-2007 at 08:42 AM.
Old 07-19-2007, 09:34 AM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast
Default Re: 44.2 MPG on first tank! Too good to be true?

See if you can repeat it, if not something is up. Maybe you live in very flat area? Perfect temp, etc...

Old 07-19-2007, 10:36 AM
Active Enthusiast

Eric,