Battery Cooling Fan Question

Search this Thread

Old 06-28-2012, 09:04 AM
Enthusiast
Default Re: Battery Cooling Fan Question

I have a 2006, and I'm in Canada, so it's limited to 100,000 miles.... and I'm at 180,000km, which is approximately 112,000 miles.

Thanks for the link! And I'll be careful, I'm an electrician.

Old 06-28-2012, 10:06 AM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast

Pretty good write-up with photographs on replacing the cooling fans WITHOUT removing the battery pack assembly from the vehicle. You are definitely going to have to address the AC issue.

http://townhall-talk.edmunds.com/direct/view/.f16fe2e

Old 07-02-2012, 02:30 PM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast

Originally Posted by ak74
https://www.greenhybrid.com/discuss/...battery-27697/

I don't know your background or anything, but just remember that when you open the battery the voltages may be much higher than 12 Vdc. Be very careful in there because the fans are inside of the battery.

Also remember that the warranty on the battery can be as much as 150,000 miles depending on what state you live in. All hybrid batteries have 100,000? mile and 5? year warranty. Not sure the numbers there are correct, but it is more than the standard warranty.
Here in the states it is 8 years / 100K miles or 10 years and 150K miles (for CARB states)

Old 07-07-2012, 07:07 AM
Enthusiast

Update

The solenoid was replaced on the rear A/C. The rapid cycling is better, but still may have problems. Since we are in the middle of a hot summer, the front A/C is on most of the time and this is a work around.

At least I know it is an A/C issue and not a battery or hybrid problem.

AK

Old 07-09-2012, 02:54 PM
Enthusiast