Do I Need To Reset The TPMS When I Get New Tires - GreenHybrid - Hybrid Cars

Go Back  GreenHybrid - Hybrid Cars > Hybrid Cars > Ford Motor Company > Ford Escape Hybrid
Do I Need To Reset The TPMS When I Get New Tires >

Do I Need To Reset The TPMS When I Get New Tires

Do I Need To Reset The TPMS When I Get New Tires

  #1  
Old 10-06-2009, 07:40 PM
Enthusiast
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 5
Default Do I Need To Reset The TPMS When I Get New Tires

I've looked thru a lot of topics and can't seem to find the answer. I have a 2008 FEH and need new tires. Will I have to have the TPMS reset or will it recognize the sensors when the tires are put back on the truck. Thanks for any help you can give and sorry if this has been answered before.
 
  #2  
Old 10-07-2009, 07:26 PM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 895
Default Re: Do I Need To Reset The TPMS When I Get New Tires

Originally Posted by j.a.p View Post
I've looked thru a lot of topics and can't seem to find the answer. I have a 2008 FEH and need new tires. Will I have to have the TPMS reset or will it recognize the sensors when the tires are put back on the truck. Thanks for any help you can give and sorry if this has been answered before.
I can't answer the first question but I gotta ask: why are you replacing the tires on a 2008?
 
  #3  
Old 10-07-2009, 09:57 PM
Active Enthusiast
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Oregon
Posts: 143
Default Re: Do I Need To Reset The TPMS When I Get New Tires

Each winter we've removed the tires with the TPMS and replace them with winter studless. During winter the TPMS complains with a beep now and again, I guess letting us know it can't find the tires! When the road tires are remounted in the spring the TPMS systems resets itself with no problems.
 
  #4  
Old 10-08-2009, 04:56 AM
Enthusiast
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 5
Default Re: Do I Need To Reset The TPMS When I Get New Tires

I could probably get away with keeping them thru the winter, but I figure why wait. Winter is coming and with 2wd I'd like as good a traction as possible. It's an early build '08 and has @36,000 miles.
 
  #5  
Old 10-08-2009, 11:23 AM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 895
Default Re: Do I Need To Reset The TPMS When I Get New Tires

Originally Posted by j.a.p View Post
I could probably get away with keeping them thru the winter, but I figure why wait. Winter is coming and with 2wd I'd like as good a traction as possible. It's an early build '08 and has @36,000 miles.
I think you could order the valve stems through Ford, and there have been other posts that speak of a device to reset the TPMS (costs around ~20), so that you don't have to pay the dealer to do that.
 
Related Topics
Thread
Topic Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
HiCap
Ford Escape Hybrid
30
01-23-2011 12:34 PM
astaroth
HCH I-Specific Discussions
0
06-23-2010 12:02 PM
sublme
Honda Civic Hybrid
6
12-04-2008 10:47 AM
grnhybrid
Ford Escape Hybrid
4
03-04-2008 08:45 AM
ECamacho
Honda Civic Hybrid
8
04-05-2006 10:10 AM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Do I Need To Reset The TPMS When I Get New Tires


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.