Ford Escape Hybrid Owner Complaints

Search this Thread

Old 01-18-2005, 03:12 PM
Enthusiast
Default Thermostat?

Originally Posted by sherpadude
I assume there must be some type of temperature mechnism that determines if the shutdown can occur.
That's what I kept thinking with my mileage problem - maybe if the thermostat isn't working properly, the engine always gets the signal to stay on.

Does anyone know if this is possible?

Old 01-18-2005, 06:14 PM
Enthusiast
Talking My FEH Driving Experience

I've found several things that may help those who are having problems understanding the operation of their hybrid drives. I'm no expert, but these are my observations. And I have to apologize for this being so long, I've been saving up for a while:

At slow speed:

1. With current temps in the 40s to 50s, I find that it takes almost 2 miles and 5 minutes for the engine to warm up enough for it to shut down while coming to stops. Up to that point, my display shows really low mpg, 10-20 or so. Once it's warm, even after parking it for a while (up to 2 hours or more?) it will shut down after a short warmup (less than 1 minute). And then city mpg goes up quite a bit, into the 30s. But that initial cold run always keeps the average city mpg down, which the EPA tests don't reflect. I always see my mpg go down, way down, at the beginning of the drive, and go up at the end (hopefully more than it went down!).