Inverter question

Search this Thread

Old 01-03-2008, 09:40 AM
Enthusiast
Question Inverter question

I am new to the hybrid website even though I own two hybrids. Here in the midwest we have been hit with ice storms and have lost power several times. I was looking up inverters and found a user feedback where the owner of a hybrid put jumper cables on a deepcell 12volt battery and connected to his hybrid's under hood 12volt battery. The deepcell battery was connected to an DC to AC inverter that powered his home during a hurricane power outage.
MY QUESTION IS WHAT IS THE AMPERAGE OUTPUT FROM THE 330VOLT POWERTRAIN BATTERY TO THE 12VOLT DC UNDER HOOD ACCESORIES BATTERY? IF I KNEW THIS RATING I COULD THEN SIZE MY INVERTER TO MAXIMIZE MY HYBRIDS BATTERY RECHARGING TECHNOLOGY.

Old 01-03-2008, 10:39 AM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast
Default Re: Inverter question

I think the 12v battery only gets a couple of charging amps since it is not intended to do very much.

Maybe this might be of some related interest, (More) Power to the People: Run Your House on a Prius. However, this story is about drawing directly from the HV battery, and not the 12v battery. Though I have my doubts that with only 3kwatts, one can run everything in the house except for the central air.

Last edited by WaltPA; 01-03-2008 at 10:42 AM.
Old 01-03-2008, 03:11 PM
Feral Engineer

See my prior post here:

https://www.greenhybrid.com/discuss/...nerator-15819/

The answer is 110 amps at 12 volts, or 1320 watts.

Old 01-03-2008, 07:13 PM

Can you really just "pull" 110 amps out of the 12v system "as is"? I mean, were would you even tie in, at the 12v battery's terminals? At the HV DC-to-DC converter's 12v side?

And wouldn't that force the ICE to run continuously, for reasons similar to why the rear defroster forces the ICE 'on'?

Last edited by WaltPA; 01-03-2008 at 07:17 PM.
Old 01-04-2008, 05:58 AM
Feral Engineer

Originally Posted by WaltPA