Real World Mileage ... how do U measure ?

Search this Thread

Old 11-25-2004, 09:09 PM
Enthusiast

Sherpa,

If you haven't already done so, check out efusco's EXCELLENT article on hybrid driving, why you usually don't meet EPA numbers, and how to improve your driving style. It's particular to the Prius, for the most part, but a lot of what is said there applies, I'm sure, to the Escape, since it's a system that's quite similar to the Prius, just on a much larger scale.

The article is located here.

Old 12-13-2004, 05:21 PM
Active Enthusiast

Originally posted by HilltopRealtor@Nov 24th 2004 @ 7:37 PM
I took delivery October 15, 2WD Escape Hybrid. (MSRP + $800) 1120 miles so far and the milage indicator on the dash floats around 26.4 - 26.5. The real milage, from 3 tanksfull is 27.9. I'm about 75% city streets and 25% freeway. I'm a very conservative driver so needless to say I'm very disappointed with my milage figures.
Let the car break in more. My Insight had a Lifetime MPG around ~42 MPG up until I reset it around 4500 miles, when I sold it with around 11,000 miles it showed a ~61 Lifetime MPG.

Also, you have to drive a hybrid somewhat differently from a normal car to expect big MPG #'s. And when you master that driving down, you'll more than likely see much better MPG #'s than what the EPA rates. Driving conservative doesn't always mean you're saving MPG. Often driving conservative can cost you just as much as you save, if not more.

Old 12-13-2004, 07:47 PM
Active Enthusiast

There are so many factors involved here. My method is to make this a grand science experiement everyday.

I find the biggest factor is how full the tank is and how many people you carry or the cargo. I am now trying to stay at about a 1/4 tank unless it is a distance between cheap gas stations. The load factor of the gas weight does make a big difference.