Requesting badly needed info!

Search this Thread

Old 02-15-2006, 08:00 PM
Soon to own a Hybrid :D
Default Requesting badly needed info!

Hello all, sorry if I annoy you for being new to the entire hybrid thing but I'm in heavy debate with myself. I really like the Ford Escape Hybrid (sorry, since I'm new I'm not very good with your terminology) and I'm thinking of getting one. The intitial price seems steep....27k in my area for the basic package. Right now I drive a 99 Dodge Durango...at a STUNNING 12-15MPG. I dont make that much...in fact i bring home around $140 a week. (I go to school full time and work all that I can). Sadly, I'll be moving back in with my parents over the summer (not because of money, but have to wait till my g/fs lease is up so we can live together). And I love SUV's! I cant stand having a dinky little car especially when I want to move a lot of stuff around!

So here are my questions.

1.) Should I invest in the FEH? Is it worth it?

2.) What would I save annually in gas?

3.) Is there a different Hybrid I should get?

4.) How far do you think I could haggle them down?

Your help would be GREATLY appreciated. I need some convincing.

Keep in mind I'm a 21 year old US Army combat veteran...at times driving slow makes my blood boil.

Old 02-15-2006, 08:07 PM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast
Default Re: Requesting badly needed info!

Sorry to disappoint. Assuming your truck is paid off, you'll never make up the different on a $27K loan no matter how expense gas gets. A seven year loan for $27K (forgetting taxes, tags, etc.) is around $500 a month. Not to mention you'll pay more for insurance at your age.

FEHs are not as much in demand as some of the others such as a Prius or Civic but you might be able to deal a little.

Keep the truck and save like crazy so you can afford something later on.

Old 02-15-2006, 08:16 PM