Scangauge daisy chain cable

  #1  
Old 07-30-2013, 08:01 AM
us035976's Avatar
Active Enthusiast
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 136
Default Scangauge daisy chain cable

For anyone who has daisy chained two scangauges together - what did you use for the cable between the two scangauges? Looks like standard RJ45 jacks and plugs to me.
I was thinking of making my own really short cable to daisy chain two of them together. I have the tools for making ethernet cables so I'm good to go there. Has anyone tried a standard ethernet cable to connect two of them?
 
  #2  
Old 07-30-2013, 08:19 AM
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Jupiter, FL
Posts: 2,468
Default Re: Scangauge daisy chain cable

Originally Posted by us035976 View Post
For anyone who has daisy chained two scangauges together - what did you use for the cable between the two scangauges? Looks like standard RJ45 jacks and plugs to me.
I was thinking of making my own really short cable to daisy chain two of them together. I have the tools for making ethernet cables so I'm good to go there. Has anyone tried a standard ethernet cable to connect two of them?
I used a standard ethernet cable and I ordered it on-line (2") for $3.

Gary
 
  #3  
Old 07-30-2013, 01:03 PM
us035976's Avatar
Active Enthusiast
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 136
Default Re: Scangauge daisy chain cable

Originally Posted by GaryG View Post
I used a standard ethernet cable and I ordered it on-line (2") for $3.

Gary
Thanks for the info. My second scangauge is supposed to arrive tomorrow. Then I can make up a nice short unobtrusive cable.
 
  #4  
Old 07-31-2013, 07:36 PM
us035976's Avatar
Active Enthusiast
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 136
Default Re: Scangauge daisy chain cable

Unsuccessful on this first try.... I got my second scangauge and cannot get two of them working at the same time. Either one work fine by itself and occasionally both will work, but nothing consistently.
I have a query in to the scangauge people and am awaiting a reply.
To anyone who has 2 scangauges working together, are they the same firmware revision? Mine are a 4.06 and the second one I just got is a 3.01
 
  #5  
Old 08-01-2013, 04:46 AM
Imported from Detroit
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,051
Default Re: Scangauge daisy chain cable

PM BillyK24, he has three connected together IIRC.
 
  #6  
Old 08-01-2013, 06:17 PM
us035976's Avatar
Active Enthusiast
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 136
Talking Re: Scangauge daisy chain cable

I got it working. When I originally set it up I was using a very short (about 3") cable I had made up. I got it working fine when I made a longer (about 10") cable. All is good now.
 
Related Topics
Thread
Topic Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
UWAdventurer
Toyota Camry Hybrid
7
06-24-2010 07:48 AM
NAH2009
Nissan Altima Hybrid/Infiniti M35h/ Q50 hybrid
4
12-12-2009 07:00 AM
Dang
Toyota Camry Hybrid
28
12-29-2007 02:03 AM
Billyk
Ford Escape Hybrid
0
10-22-2007 06:33 PM
Delta Flyer
Anything Goes
8
04-13-2006 06:51 AM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Scangauge daisy chain cable


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.