Electric Vehicle Forums

Electric Vehicle Forums (/forums/)
-   Ford Escape Hybrid (https://electricvehicleforums.com/forums/ford-escape-hybrid-26/)
-   -   Sell or Keep: 2007 FEH w/ 130k (https://electricvehicleforums.com/forums/ford-escape-hybrid-26/sell-keep-2007-feh-w-130k-31787/)

RiderKidMom 12-19-2018 07:22 AM

Sell or Keep: 2007 FEH w/ 130k

(I tried searching for some updated info and didn't find a match to my criteria. Apologies if this is a repeat. I'm a newbie to this group.)

We own a 2007 FEH (built Oct. '06) with approximately 130/135k miles on the engine. It's never had any major repairs, got new shocks/struts a few years ago, brakes and tires about 2 years ago. About 3 years ago we had the massive electrical disconnect that had the recall where the engine would shut off at 70mph and we'd get the Stop Now alert. That was fun. That was before the recall, naturally, so we wound up dumping $900 at the dealer about 9 months before the recall so Ford refused our claim. Anyhoo... No issues with AC or transmission, thus far, but we are in SE Texas so the heat definitely strains the vehicle in the 6 mos of summer. For the past 2 years, our son has been driving it. He's now 19 but drives like an old man, rarely going above the speed limit and has never had a fender bender. I sure hope I didn't just jinx him. We're in the process of forcing him to start adulting and making a decision about a vehicle. We're willing to sign over the title and contribute up to ~$2500-$5000 for half of his purchase of another vehicle. The FEH is in Fair condition - the paint is shot in some places, the moonroof leaks running down the seat belt mechanism on both sides in the front (smells great!), and the center console screen has a monster size blackout circle that really makes the thing not particularly useful so it's not really resellable except for parts or minimal trade-in. We're not willing to outright buy a car *for* him.