Should I Buy an Escape

Search this Thread

Old 11-14-2006, 10:43 AM
Enthusiast
Default Should I Buy an Escape

I am a general building contractor in San Francisco, CA. We are focusing our efforts on green building. As a part of my mission I am looking to buy an Escape Hybrid FWD. It would be used for sales calls - primarily for city driving. However, I only drive about 4-6000 miles a year. I walk or ride to my office most days and can do the same to clients homes that are in the neighborhood. Because of my low yearly mileage the additional costs for the hybrid technology doesn't really pay for itself (it would take approximately 20 years as compared with the the non-hybrid Escape). I realize that there is more at stake than dollars and cents. However I am also concerned that because of my low yearly mileage that the hybrid technology is being wasted and a standard vehicle would serve just as well - environmentally speaking, morally speaking, etc. Should I purchase an Escape Hybrid?

Thanks for your feedback.

Jeff King

Old 11-14-2006, 11:43 AM
occ
Pretty Darn Active Enthusiast
Default Re: Should I Buy an Escape

Hi Jeff,

Since you're asking on the FEH/MMH forum, I'm assuming you need the utility factor and a prius or HCH or TCH that are greener would not fit the bill.

That being the case, then I think that if your projected usage, even as you say is low mileage, is 15min or greater during any leg of your drive, then the hybrid FE (Fuel Economy) and pollution will out perform similar non-hybrid, and esp so for city traffic with lots of stop/go.

I think for all hybrids, the 1st 10-15 min it takes for the system to warm up to max efficiency makes it just like any other vehicle of the same class/type.

If you had to get a vehicle, the fact that you're getting a hybrid will help to say "we want and willing to buy clean technology" to the auto industry.