Tire Replacement Questions

Search this Thread

Old 01-24-2008, 11:58 AM
Enthusiast
Default Tire Replacement Questions

Hello all,

I just got a flat tire yesterday and dropped it off to see if they could patch it. Hopefully they can but if not, what would the recommended replacement situation be? I have 30,000 miles on the original tires so would it be best to replace two of them? four of them? and if I do replace them, any suggestions? I don't mind a small hit on FE if I get a little quieter ride.

BTW, I heard the puncture and almost immediately the "low tire pressure" warning came on. I liked that

Thanks,
Steve

Old 01-24-2008, 12:31 PM
Active Enthusiast
Default Re: Tire Replacement Questions

I have no first hand knowledge of either of these, but have heard good things about the Bridgestone Alenza and the Goodyear Silent Armor Triple Tread. I'll probably need new tires next fall. You might want to search this forum as I think I've seen it discussed before.

Old 01-24-2008, 02:44 PM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast

I believe you live in the Bay area of California and that means no snow. I bought the Goodyear Fortera w/Tripletred tires for winter usage. I am happy with my choice and they work better than the Conti EcoPlus tires in snow and ice. Since you live where snow does not normally occur, these tires may not make sense unless you spend the weekends skiing.

John Morton has the Bridgeston Alenza tires and speaks positive of them.

Old 01-25-2008, 10:25 AM
Hybrid and Ethanol Expert

So what makes a tire loud or quiet?
I always figured it was the tread.
Big 4x4's with knobby mud tires comes to mind.

But the EcoPlus Conti's have very smooth, even tread.
And now that I have 59,000 miles, they are even smoother.
I never thought they were loud, but I don't have anything to compare them to other than knobby off-road tires.

In a lab, could they be a couple decibels more than some? I'm sure.