Why Get a FWD SUV?

Search this Thread

Old 03-10-2007, 08:22 PM
Active Enthusiast
Default Re: Why Get a FWD SUV?

Growing up in MI, I often drove RWD vehicles including Caprice with a 350. The folks that had 4 wheel drive were often the ones that were stuck somewhere, why? Because they thought they could get through anything. All it did was get them stuck further an worse than they would have without it. My only 4x4 was almost always driven in 2wd, and if the need arose, then I would put it into 4x4 to get out of that situation. Its unfortunate that the MMH only comes in AWD, its not an option that I needed, but if I wanted the Mariner, I had no choice...

Old 03-11-2007, 07:10 AM
Active Enthusiast

I have a 4wd Mariner Hybrid.

I live in the Cleveland (Ohio) area. I am a Pharmacist at a nursing home. I do not have the luxury of staying home if the roads are bad. I also work weekends. Sometimes the plows have not cleared the streets on Saturday or Sunday morning until after I have arrived at work.

When the temperature gets down in the teens and below, the salt does not melt the snow. Then I am driving on ice.

If I could stay home when the weather is very bad, the 2wd is the way to go, but if you have to go out in very bad weather, the 4wd seems best.
As a side note, I tried to get my Mariner stuck in the driveway after a 16 inch snow. I couldn’t.
Rick

Old 03-11-2007, 10:50 AM
Active Enthusiast

Originally Posted by mikesus
Growing up in MI, I often drove RWD vehicles including Caprice with a 350. The folks that had 4 wheel drive were often the ones that were stuck somewhere, why? Because they thought they could get through anything. All it did was get them stuck further an worse than they would have without it. My only 4x4 was almost always driven in 2wd, and if the need arose, then I would put it into 4x4 to get out of that situation. Its unfortunate that the MMH only comes in AWD, its not an option that I needed, but if I wanted the Mariner, I had no choice...