Help me Honda, help me Honda owners...

Search this Thread

Old 10-16-2005, 10:38 AM
Enthusiast
Unhappy Help me Honda, help me Honda owners...

Hi all I'm new to the Hybrid world and am very excited. I shared this message with another car forum that's not specifically for green cars but then I discovered this site so I'm repeating my request here...

Okay read all the posts and a large majority of you fellow HAH owners are doing pretty well on mpg. I've been driving a week or so with about 500 miles since purchase -- mostly NYC driving but also a few 80-100 mile round trip highway trips. I'm getting 18 mpg most of the time. Highway is 21 mpg tops. My last fill up confirmed the dashboard mpg. reading (don't have the nav sys.) I averaged 19.5 mpg. My wife will testify that I ain't a lead foot.

Couple these bizarre numbers with the rumble/shudder I get when the gas engine engages seems to indicate something is really wrong. It also seems to me I'm very rarely using the electric engine and the ECO light does not come on or stay on as often as I expected. Unfortunately, these observations are in vacumm since I have no additional experience to compare.

This is my fifth Honda and I really want this car to work out. I 'm just unsure of what's going on. Can anyone enlighten me? Is their something I'm not getting? Is there something really wrong?

Old 10-16-2005, 10:51 AM
Default Re: Help me Honda, help me Honda owners...

First check the air in your tires. Some people have reported low tires comeing from the factory. If you feel comfortable you can boost the preasure up to max sidewall presure. This will increase FE. I can't realy talk about the rumble/shudder because I haven't driven an accord. Also, what gear to you drive in? I believe there is a drive and overdrive and a few others (again not 100% sure because of my lack of experience.)

Old 10-16-2005, 11:04 AM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast

Hi HondaHonda: