Newbie question!

Search this Thread

Old 01-31-2006, 10:38 AM
Enthusiast
Default Newbie question!

Has anyone taken their Highlander Hybrid on a long vacation?
I am wondering how the Highlander handles under a heavy load -- i.e. luggage, kids, dog, camping gear, roof cargo carrier, bicycles, etc.
Do the heavy loads cause strain on the rear suspension and sagging?
Does the engine strain under the heavy loads?

I am newbie here, and we've just replaced our faithful, aging Toyota 4Runner. The 4Runner took the heavy loads, but sagged tremendously and bottomed out (what a scary sound! ) on moderate bumps in the road when we loaded it with all our gear.

Thanks for your inputs!!

Old 01-31-2006, 06:57 PM
Enthusiast
Default Re: Newbie question!

I put about 1000 pounds of lumber (Enought to build 50 feet of privacy fence) in the back of my HiHy a few weeks ago with minimal sag and no bottom dragging. The car handeled the same and even got most of the way home in battery mode (warm streak in Michigan with temps in the 50's). I think you will be fine!

Old 01-31-2006, 07:27 PM
Enthusiast

Over the holidays, I took our HiHy on a 1500 mile trip with the family (wife and 2 kids). We didn't have anything loaded on the outside of the vehicle, but we were pretty well packed on the inside. No visible sag, definitely no bottoming out. And in terms of power, if anything the HiHy has too much of it. There were a couple of times that even at highway speed I felt it zoom out from under me. Overall, one of best travelling experiences i've had, particularly because of how infrequently we had to stop for gas. Fear not, the HiHy will take what you throw at it.

-HiHybrid

Old 02-03-2006, 05:54 PM
joe540ci