Journalism & The Media Television, radio, movies, newspapers, magazines, the Internet and more.

Diesel or Hybrid or Petrol?

Search this Thread

Old 11-26-2007, 10:31 PM
Engineering first
Thumbs up Diesel or Hybrid or Petrol?

http://autospeed.com/cms/A_109237/article.html

I’ve just stepped out of my 1995 Peugeot 405 SRDT turbo diesel sedan, having driven it 800 kilometres in two days, making a holiday trip loaded with a bootful of luggage and my wife and 3-year-old (no, they weren’t in the boot).

When I arrived home, I saw sitting the driveway my 2001 Honda Insight hybrid and my wife’s 1998 Toyota Prius hybrid – the latter’s the one with the defective high voltage battery. As a motoring journalist, I have also driven current model Volkswagen, Peugeot, Audi and Hyundai diesels, the current model Prius (in fact I drove that car across half of Australia and back) and the Honda Civic Hybrid. So, unlike most who seem to write on this topic, I have personal ownership experience of hybrid and diesel cars as well as test car experience.
I am a fan of Julian Edgar whom I've found to be honest, ethical and quite willing to admit mistakes with a deft sense of humor. Soon after I learned about his magazine, I subscribed and continue to recommend as one of the best collections of hard, automotive technology and empirical knowledge. So when he wrote this piece, I was already inclined to believe him.

Edgar makes one pithy observation that I agree with,"Unless aftermarket manufacturers take up the challenge to produce OE direct fit batteries at reasonable prices (and it’s quite likely that in the future they will), or car manufacturers dramatically drop the price of new batteries, then hybrids will adopt orphan status as they get old." IMHO, he has identified an opportunity that is unlikely to be picked up by the OEMs. We're going to have to solve this one ourselves.