Journalism & The Media Television, radio, movies, newspapers, magazines, the Internet and more.

Oil hits new all time high

Old 03-03-2008, 10:56 AM
Active Enthusiast
Default Oil hits new all time high

Today the price of crude oil broke its inflation adjusted all time high of $103.76, spiking to $103.95.

http://biz.yahoo.com/ap/080303/oil_prices.html

Unfortunately for us, the factors pushing it up are quite different than those of 1980 and it doesn't look like it will abate significantly any time soon.

Old 03-03-2008, 11:11 AM
Active Enthusiast
Default Re: Oil hits new all time high

On the flip side; my gold that I bought with my tax refund last year has reached $990 an Oz!

Old 03-07-2008, 04:42 AM
Active Enthusiast

Originally Posted by Chris(CA)
On the flip side; my gold that I bought with my tax refund last year has reached $990 an Oz!
Yup.
I've been buying gold, too; for about two years.

There is a loose, but definite relationship between the price of gold and the price of oil of around 8:1 to 10:1.

It's a pretty safe bet that your gold will be worth $2,000/oz. at around the same time that oil hits $200/brl. Keep buying the gold.

Old 03-07-2008, 12:00 PM
occ
Pretty Darn Active Enthusiast

How about $106

http://money.cnn.com/2008/03/07/mark...ion=2008030711

Do you think we can still invest in oil? It'll continue the upward trend, wouldn't it?

Old 03-07-2008, 12:06 PM
Active Enthusiast

Originally Posted by occ
How about $106

http://money.cnn.com/2008/03/07/mark...ion=2008030711

Do you think we can still invest in oil? It'll continue the upward trend, wouldn't it?