Adding a subwoofer

  #11  
Old 02-27-2008, 01:47 PM
Enthusiast
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 8
Default Re: Adding a subwoofer

I have a Rockford Fosgate P600.1bd.

http://www.rockfordfosgate.com/produ...7&locale=en_US
 
  #12  
Old 02-27-2008, 06:16 PM
Enthusiast
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 22
Default Re: Adding a subwoofer

Ok, now I need to jump in.

How did you wire it into the stock system? I didn't think there were any outputs on the head unit.
 
  #13  
Old 02-28-2008, 06:25 AM
mikieboyblue's Avatar
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Mid Hudson Valley, New York
Posts: 1,389
Default Re: Adding a subwoofer

Originally Posted by dledeaux View Post
Ok, now I need to jump in.

How did you wire it into the stock system? I didn't think there were any outputs on the head unit.
That was my next question....along with....where are you powering it from? The 12V battery?
 
  #14  
Old 02-28-2008, 08:17 AM
Enthusiast
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 8
Default Re: Adding a subwoofer

You splice in from the rear speakers. The only bad part about that is that you can't control the sub seperate from the rest of the speakers. It's not the ideal situation.

Answer to second question is, I'm powering from the 12V. It's the same as any car battery. My amp does hit pretty hard, so I'm thinking of adding a capacitor.
 
  #15  
Old 02-28-2008, 11:16 AM
mikieboyblue's Avatar
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Mid Hudson Valley, New York
Posts: 1,389
Default Re: Adding a subwoofer

Originally Posted by reignofjerm View Post
You splice in from the rear speakers. The only bad part about that is that you can't control the sub seperate from the rest of the speakers. It's not the ideal situation.

Answer to second question is, I'm powering from the 12V. It's the same as any car battery. My amp does hit pretty hard, so I'm thinking of adding a capacitor.
Interesting...thanks...I do have a spare Pioneer 800w amp, sub, and box....I can't decide if I should sell it all or use it!
 
  #16  
Old 02-28-2008, 11:37 AM
flopshot's Avatar
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: California
Posts: 567
Default Re: Adding a subwoofer

I'm going to order the Blaupunkt THB-200A enclosed/powered subwoofer and will mount it directly behind the rear seat on the driver side, since there is a small gap in there that is useless for anything else.
 
  #17  
Old 02-28-2008, 01:47 PM
Enthusiast
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 8
Default Re: Adding a subwoofer

Originally Posted by flopshot View Post
I'm going to order the Blaupunkt THB-200A enclosed/powered subwoofer and will mount it directly behind the rear seat on the driver side, since there is a small gap in there that is useless for anything else.
That would be the ideal situation, but I'm a bass junkie, and while these small boxes really fill out your factory system, they don't really hit as hard as I'm looking for. I'm thinking of just doing a smaller box. Im leaning towards the Infinity Kappa series.
 
  #18  
Old 02-29-2008, 04:18 PM
Active Enthusiast
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 95
Default Re: Adding a subwoofer

Originally Posted by reignofjerm View Post
You splice in from the rear speakers. The only bad part about that is that you can't control the sub seperate from the rest of the speakers. It's not the ideal situation.

Answer to second question is, I'm powering from the 12V. It's the same as any car battery. My amp does hit pretty hard, so I'm thinking of adding a capacitor.
Dont waste your money on a cap. They are waaaay over rated and the WRONG way to fix any cars electrical system! Put that money into a bigger alternator if anything...
 
  #19  
Old 02-29-2008, 04:32 PM
Enthusiast
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 8
Default Re: Adding a subwoofer

I'm using the Rockford Fosgate 600.1bd
 
  #20  
Old 02-29-2008, 04:44 PM
Active Enthusiast
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 95
Default Re: Adding a subwoofer

Originally Posted by reignofjerm View Post
I'm using the Rockford Fosgate 600.1bd
And I'm using 2 Kicker SX900.2's and 1 Kicker SX600.2. I have 00 Gauge wire run to my power dist. block.
I dont have a cap and my lights don't dim at all when the bass hits...
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Adding a subwoofer


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.