Anyone have a discharged battery?

Search this Thread

Old 07-12-2006, 03:18 PM
Enthusiast
Default Anyone have a discharged battery?

i was looking at this http://www.toyotaiguide.com/ and it said that if you don't drive your car for 2 weeks the main battery can discharge.. i'm curious to know if that has yet to happen to anyone.

also can anyone have a link that talks about the TCHs new tech over the past hybrids...because someone told me the whole hybrid thing is just a phase and the tech. might fade out because they don't know about long term life. They read it in some news paper which i don't know.... i disagree... but i'm still learning about this and that

the main thing people ask me when i say i'm thinking of geting a hybrid is "will it last as long as a gasoline car" ... and i'm still on the fence about answering that correctly

Old 07-12-2006, 04:14 PM
Pretty Darn Active Enthusiast
Default Re: Anyone have a discharged battery?

If you use the search functionality of these forums, or just browse through the Journalism & The Media forum in particular, you will find plenty of information from articles and government reports about long-term use of hybrid vehicles. Edmunds has long-term vehicle reports for numerous vehicles including several hybrids (Prius, Accord and Lexus RX400h).

Contrary to popular belief, hybrid technology is not new. You'll find lots of info about that on this site too, but there's also a long article on Wikipedia (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hybrid_vehicle). Additionally, the Prius has been on the road in Japan since 1997 and in the US since 2001 (model years). The Honda Insight has been on the road in the US since calendar year 1999. I'd say that clearly demonstrates these vehicles are not just a fad or a phase.