Effect of Air Conditioning on mileage

Search this Thread

Old 06-02-2008, 04:34 AM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast
Default Effect of Air Conditioning on mileage

As the summer approaches and warmer weather is here, many will wonder about the effect of air conditioning on mileage.

I'm no expert, but I believe that for 'normal' cars, driving with the windows open reduces mileage (due to the drag) about the same as using the AC. The AC's are a lot more efficient than they used to be. So there is no benefit in sweating...unless you want to lose weight.

As far as hybrids are concerned (I am not positive about this, but believe I read it somewhere, so if I am wrong, please excuse me) the AC runs off electric power, not tied into the engine. If I understand it correctly (and I probably don't), a hybrid driving with full battery shouldn't have any mileage effect, since there is ample battery charge. Of course if the battery is low, then the ICE will need to run to recharge the battery. Correct me if I am wrong.

Old 06-02-2008, 04:53 AM
Pragmatist
Default Re: Effect of Air Conditioning on mileage

I think the AC does have an effect on fuel efficiency. The compressor uses a lot of energy. The fact that it is electric just means the energy has to go from the gas engine, through the generator to the battery, and finally to the compressor. That has got to be less efficient than going straight from the engine to the compressor. The advantage, of course, is that the AC can run while the engine is not.