Extended warranty necessary?

Search this Thread

Old 12-06-2007, 02:08 PM
Active Enthusiast
Exclamation Extended warranty necessary?

A newbie here with another question......Almost ready to choose between dealers and buy my TCH..I KNOW they will pressure me to buy extended warranty/ Never did for my Maxima and didn't need it. Any thoughts out there??

Old 12-06-2007, 02:30 PM
Old Boomer Techie
Post Re: Extended warranty necessary?

I opted to take it -- only because the TCH was new technology and also because the dealer gave me a pretty good discount on it. Now that the car has been out a while I think the decision would be harder to make.

Old 12-06-2007, 02:46 PM
TCH 2007 newbie May 07
Default Re: Extended warranty necessary?

Same thinking here. Especially to cover the NAV and other complex electronics. The drivetrain is probably bulletproof.

Old 12-06-2007, 02:48 PM
Active Enthusiast

Extended warranties are a profit item for dealers. Like any insurance, only consider purchase if you could not otherwise cover the repair expense.

Our personal experience is we've never owned a car where an extended warranty would have paid for itself. The only time we did buy one was for an 86 Ford Taurus, which was a new car with lots of features (for its time) to break, so we chickened out and got the extended warranty. Never made a claim.

Old 12-06-2007, 03:26 PM
Active Enthusiast

Not getting nav..just leather with upgrade package, moonroof, heated seats....
How much are they charging for the extended warranty? Heard varied amounts.....Wont pay another $1000...

Old 12-06-2007, 03:52 PM
Camry Freak

I opted against the extended warranties that they offered me. (They offered me everything from a wheel and tire warranty to a bumper to bumper 7 year plan.)