How i got over 58mpg from my TCH

Search this Thread

Old 02-27-2011, 07:12 PM
Enthusiast
Default How i got over 58mpg from my TCH

I average 47mpg if I work a little with my TCH and sometimes I can get far better. On a recent trip I achieved over 58mpg over a 22.3 mile stretch through the mountains (ending up at the same altitude but with slightly less charge).
Thankfully I took the temporary time of cheaper gas to replace my cars with hybrids. I own a 2009 TCH since last fall and I have spent some time optimizing my driving technique. I am hoping that I can boost fuel efficiency during the warm summer months some more, but so far I am fairly happy.
I wrote a blog post about this and I credited this forum, since I learned a lot from you guys. Here is the posting:
Improving Hybrid Car Gas Mileage
I welcome any feedback. Keep in mind, I am still learning. I am hoping to continuously improve my mileage. Its sort of a game for me, trying to beat my old records. I don't drive very slow and I don't do anything dangerous (anymore). I am not a nuisance to other drivers. I am sure with more aggressive techniques I could achieve greater savings.

Old 02-28-2011, 01:35 AM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast
Default Re: How i got over 58mpg from my TCH

I have had good results while driving in the nearby mountains. This was during the summer and I found dry air or the very low humidity in the mountains helps improve the mpg.

Another thing I have noticed with my '07 TCH, is the mpg is best when the air intake temperature reads 75 to 85 degrees. (I use a scan-gauge)

I would think the warmer the better and with the dryer air, but without the AC.

Last edited by rburt07; 03-03-2011 at 05:43 PM.
Old 02-28-2011, 08:16 PM
Enthusiast

Thanks Jimmy,
I am waiting for the higher temps, but I think I can already tell the difference between 40 and 60 and its quite significant.
Thankfully the air is usually dry here.

Old 03-01-2011, 04:38 AM
Professor Emeritus