HUGH drop in mpg...Why??Suggestions?

Search this Thread

Old 07-17-2008, 05:59 PM
Active Enthusiast
Default HUGH drop in mpg...Why??Suggestions?

OK I'm hoping someone here can help me since my family thinks I'm fanatical about this car. I was getting about 38 mpg driving mostly parkway to work. Now being a teacher I'm off and my mpg has dropped to about 28,29! Its driving me crazy. I do some parkway, some local roads always trying to do the longest leg of my errands first. Driving the same way, Eco if using ac.etc....Having son add more air to tires tomorrow BUT I'm really worried...I did better mpg in the winter! Car has about 6600 miles. thanks guys...

Old 07-17-2008, 06:17 PM
Active Enthusiast
Arrow Re: HUGH drop in mpg...Why??Suggestions?

Mileage is a function of not just temperature but where you drive. Is your new drive the same length?

Short trips will kill your mileage.

I find when I drive on the weekend that if I take just a few short trips, my mileage will drop more than if I take a much longer trip.

Try driving for 30 minutes and see if that doesn't improve your mileage.

Also consider taking a drive where you don't have any lights and see what your mileage is.

Old 07-17-2008, 07:06 PM
Active Enthusiast
Default Re: HUGH drop in mpg...Why??Suggestions?

What does Hugh have to do with this?

He's always getting a bum rap.

Old 07-17-2008, 07:33 PM
Enthusiast
Exclamation Re: HUGH drop in mpg...Why??Suggestions?

That is a huge difference. Last summer I used to average 38 to 40 with a longer commute. This summer I'm doing mostly short trips and I've added a Thule bike rack to the top and I'm still averaging about 33-37 mpg. Sounds like something might be off...

Old 07-17-2008, 07:37 PM
Active Enthusiast

Originally Posted by tegster
What does Hugh have to do with this?

He's always getting a bum rap.
LOL.....Oh GEE My typing stinks...sorry.....

Old 07-17-2008, 07:40 PM
Active Enthusiast

Originally Posted by drsjohn