ICE running, but doesn't "rev" until reaching 5-10 mph...

Search this Thread

Old 09-11-2006, 06:16 PM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast
Default ICE running, but doesn't "rev" until reaching 5-10 mph...

I don't know why I am just now noticing it, but when I pull out of my driveway in the morning, I have noticed that even though the ICE is running (since it is still cold), my car sounds like it is in EV mode until I reach 5-10 mph, and then I can hear the ICE "rev".

I still love this car! I am still learning about it every day.

Old 09-11-2006, 06:26 PM
Active Enthusiast
Default Re: ICE running, but doesn't "rev" until reaching 5-10 mph...

When I leave in the morning, I have a brief uphill, then a downhill of about the same distance (total distance of 1/3 mile) then a stopsign. After the stopsign it is a 'straight' shot for the next 2 miles, though there is a 40 mph curve and some slight up and downhills. The last quarter to half mile are at lower speeds, going into the school zone (where I work) and pretty steep downhill grade. What I have discovered is to quickly put it on cruise at 40 before I get to the stopsign, then get it up to the minimum for CC to set (20 or 25) and then hit resume. I let the CC control the gas, and it settles it into EV quicker than I would. Mileage is consistantly at 38-41 mpg for this 2.5 miles.

Oh, is there a minimum distance you have to go to get the ECO mode to show anything? (well, above 20...) I have noticed on short trips that even though the real-time readout is quite good, nothing shows up on the ECO stairstep...

As has been said before, cruise is your best friend...even on non-hybrid cars.

Oh, got my standard issue license plate today...last three letters are VJZ...for Very Jazzy Automobile! :-)

Old 09-11-2006, 06:46 PM
Keeping Toyota Solvent

Originally Posted by spiff72