Intelligent Key Fob Battery Replacement

Search this Thread

Old 08-06-2008, 09:49 AM
Super Moderator
Default Re: Intelligent Key Fob Battery Replacement

Byron,

The circuit board will fall out and the battery is on the back side.

Old 08-06-2008, 09:52 AM
HSD Organic Interface

Originally Posted by ByronJames2003

I opened the FOB using the directions above, but I don't see the battery, only the circut board.
Just flip the little circuit board over, battery is on the other side. There are no screws or anything holding it down.

I'm an expert at changing these batteries, and can do it in about 15 seconds. Mine ran down a few months ago, and thinking it was a greal deal, I bought a batch of 10 on eBay dirt cheap. The batteries must be defective because even though the date is recent on them, testing them shows they were all almost dead on arrival. I get about 2 to 4 weeks use out of each one. I've changed my battery 8 times now.

I've got 1 more spare to go before I hunt down a good one!

Be leary of Energizer 1632 batteries on eBay. I think they were meant for Chinese watches!

Last edited by Droid13; 08-06-2008 at 09:59 AM.
Old 08-06-2008, 09:55 AM
Active Enthusiast

David

I was afraid you were going to say that. I hate taking things apart....well, I like taking them apart...lol...I seem to have problems putting them back together.

I did take it apart and have the battery now.
Heading over to Radio Shack now to see if they have it.

I probably should have done this at home with the other FOB nearby.

lol

I may need a ride home tonight guys.

Byron

Old 08-06-2008, 10:47 AM
Active Enthusiast

Ok....

Here is the battery

http://www.radioshack.com/search/ind...20battery&sr=1

Radio Shack has it available only on their website. I tried a few kiosks in the mall that replace watch batteries, they didn't have it, neither did Best Buy or Ritz camera.

I'll swing by Toyota and pick up two.

I am curious to see how much Toyota charges for it.

Byron