Mass Air Flow Sensor & Throttle Body Service

Search this Thread

Old 07-31-2009, 01:51 PM
Pretty Darn Active Enthusiast
Default Mass Air Flow Sensor & Throttle Body Service

My dealer has recommended replacing the "mass air flow sensor" as well as performing "throttle body" service. I'm not familiar with these items and a search here turned up nothing. Does anybody have any pertinent information to share, please?

Thanks.

Old 07-31-2009, 03:28 PM
Active Enthusiast
Default Re: Mass Air Flow Sensor & Throttle Body Service

Originally Posted by bmgoodman
My dealer has recommended replacing the "mass air flow sensor" as well as performing "throttle body" service.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mass_flow_sensor

Benton 31jul09

Old 07-31-2009, 06:57 PM
Active Enthusiast

I'm no mechanic, but this sounds iffy unless you're having some issues, that and I thought the TCH had multi-point fuel injection, ie. no throttle body

First get a justification for this work from the first dealer, then get a second opinion. If it turns out that the first dealer is less than honest about the recommendations, report them to the BBB, Toyota USA and don't go back.

Old 07-31-2009, 08:06 PM
Active Enthusiast

Also, is the shop offering to do the work under warranty? Just about anything in the engine controls would be covered under the 5-yr/50k-mile pollution control system requirement, no? First owner only?

But good question from BOFH. I'm no gear-head, but I've never heard of an air flow meter going bad.

Benton 31jul09

Old 08-01-2009, 01:36 AM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast

Throttle Body Service: That's were they remove the large rubber tube from the air cleaner outlet to the throttle body. They usually a carb cleaner and toothbrush and cloth to clean the insides of the intake.

The throttle body gets dirty from the engine gas recirculation. The gas only versions are set up like this, i'm not sure about the TCH.