my car stinks

Old 08-31-2008, 05:50 AM
Pretty Darn Active Enthusiast
Default Re: my car stinks

There is a product from the company BG products called "frigi-fresh" that kills the mold spores in your evaporator.

You should remove the cabin filter before applying ( I have seen it work without removing the filter first, but not as well).
You put the blower motor on high, making sure recirc is NOT ON (so it is drawing air from the outside cowl vent).

You spray the product directly into the cowl panel where the fan is sucking in the air.

The fan sucks the frigi fresh into the evaporator.

Works pretty good, one can is good for several applications.

You can by it at some car dealers. I have also seen it on ebay.

Sean

hope this info helps!

Old 08-31-2008, 07:55 PM
Enthusiast

Frigi-fresh works well... but the active ingredient is the same thing contained in Lysol sanitizing spray.. so I've been using Lysol for several years now.

Just remove the cabin air filter from its compartment. Put the A/C fan on high and air control on outside air and start spraying into the outside air intake (typically located between the windshield and hood on the passenger side of the car).

Old 09-01-2008, 07:58 PM

On another car (not the TCH) I solved this problem with a product named Ozium (available in auto stores an other places here in very humid Houston).

But instead of spraying it into the outside air intakes, I put the A/C in recirculation vent mode and sprayed a generous amount into the front floor areas with the A/C running, let it run for 10 min or so with the doors & windows shut (and myself outside of the car). Then I let the car sit overnight. Repeated this daily for several days and the problem was gone, never to re-appear.

Last edited by Smilin' Jack; 09-01-2008 at 07:59 PM. Reason: typos
Old 09-01-2008, 08:26 PM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast

Huh. My earlier post on this didn't make it in, so here it is.