Noise from Rear When Car Parked

Search this Thread

Old 01-04-2014, 02:42 PM
Enthusiast
Default Noise from Rear When Car Parked

Hello Forum, I tried searching to see if anyone has had a similar experience but didn't think anyone has mentioned this situation. I have a 2013 TCH. I'm fairly handy with cars so I wouldn't post here if I thought the noise was normal. However, I am new to hybrids. I understand that when you walk up to the car the car activates a pump that I believe operates the parking brake. I've heard this noise all the time and understand it's functioning normally as I walk up to the car. The noise that worries me sounded similar, but was coming from the rear of the car, somewhere between the two rear wheels. I understand this is where the battery is. Let me explain the events before the noise occurred. I don't like to, because the car is new, but had to drive to an appointment while it was snowing. The roads were slushy but not covered in inches of snow. I'm pointing this out because I wasn't driving in a foot of snow or something where the snow was possibly jammed up into the rear of the car. It was all slush, water and salt less than 4 inches. I drove to my appointment - about a 20 minute drive. Stayed for 4 hours, then drove back to my house - 20 minutes. Everything appeared normal as I parked in the garage. No unusual sounds. Shut the garage door - went inside. No one home but me. About 3 hours later, I took some trash to the garage and heard what sounded like a small electric motor. I quickly narrowed down origin of the sound to the rear of the car - somewhere between the two rear wheels. I would have got under the car, but the snow and slush made the ground wet and I didn't want to get all wet. So I opened the car door to see if I would hear the usual noise of the parking brake hydraulic pump or whatever it is. Yes, this came on and sounded normal but came from the front of the car. It turned off and the sound from the rear kept going. I turned