HCH I-Specific Discussions Model Years 2003–2005

'05 MT Owner -- Anyone else doing their own work?

Search this Thread

Old 06-16-2010, 01:29 PM
Dumb Blonde
Default '05 MT Owner -- Anyone else doing their own work?

Hi all -- I'm new to these forums and looking for another MT owner who's been doing his/her own maintenance and repairs on this car. I'm approaching 80k and various bits and pieces are starting to complain, so a shop buddy whose brain I can pick would be great. Cheers!

Old 10-22-2010, 07:00 PM
Enthusiast
Default Re: '05 MT Owner -- Anyone else doing their own work?

I fix all my other bikes/cars and have done much with this civic but last week I panicked and took it to the stealer. $500 only to find out it needed a new 12V battery, I'm kicking myself.

Old 11-28-2010, 06:41 AM

I used to be a mechanic, with the emphasis on used to, but stopped because I just didn't enjoy it anymore.

But I do some work on my 2003 HCH. I don't change the oil anymore because what little money I save just isn't worth it to me, especially in the winter since I don't have a warm garage to work in and also because oil disposal is a pain I don't need.

I have done the brakes all around, I change air filters. Ireplaced my EGR valve. I replaced both headlight assemblys because they were cracked. And I'm sure there are a couple other items not at the top of my head.

Post any specific questions you have and I will be happy to help if I can.

Old 11-28-2010, 06:44 AM

Originally Posted by danboy
I fix all my other bikes/cars and have done much with this civic but last week I panicked and took it to the stealer. $500 only to find out it needed a new 12V battery, I'm kicking myself.
You must have got more than a 12V battery for $500.

Or at least I hope you did.

Old 11-28-2010, 07:15 AM
Enthusiast

Originally Posted by mrkcohen
You must have got more than a 12V battery for $500.

Or at least I hope you did.