HCH I-Specific Discussions Model Years 2003–2005

Battery shows 0 charge @ start-up

Search this Thread

Old 02-22-2012, 04:29 AM
Enthusiast
Location: Seattle, Washington, United States of America, Earth, Milky Way
Default Battery shows 0 charge @ start-up

I have a 2004 Honda Civic. Although I am very familiar with most Honda cars, I am new to hybrid vehicles. When I 1st start my Honda Civic Hybrid, the IMA battery usually will show to be completely depleted, but will then proceed to charge as the engine runs. Even after only being off for a few minutes, like running in the convenience store, when I restart, it will show as completely depleted, or very low, maybe 1 or 2 bars, even if it was fully charged when shut down. Is this normal? Does the IMA battery reset every time the car is shut off? It has nvr failed to start, nor had any problem charging while the engine runs, either.
But this being my 1 exposure to a hybrid vehicle, I have no frame of reference on whether or not this is normal, or indicates a problem. So I thought I'd bring it here, & ask people that have a little more experience with these Honda Hybrids. Thank you, in advance, for your help.

Old 02-22-2012, 03:05 PM
Think green.
Default Re: Battery shows 0 charge @ start-up

Welcome, Matthew.

That seems strange. Even if all I do is turn the key to the accessory setting to have the dash gauges turn on, the IMA battery level indicator shows pretty much the same level that it did when I last turned off the car.

Is your car starting with the IMA battery back behind the back seat, or is it starting with the conventional starter in the engine bay? The IMA starts relatively silently, where the conventional starter has the sound one is usually used to hearing when a car is started up.

Did you buy it from an individual or a dealership? If if was from a Honda dealer I wonder if they did some work on it and maybe forgot to do something when setting it up for you?

Old 02-22-2012, 11:56 PM
Enthusiast