HCH I-Specific Discussions Model Years 2003–2005

May buy an HCH, important questions for you guys!

Search this Thread

Old 12-15-2011, 08:10 AM
Enthusiast
Exclamation May buy an HCH, important questions for you guys!

Hey there, I'm very very new to hybrids, and civics in general (always been a toyota person)

Well, I'm going to go test drive a civic hybrid later, 5 speed, with an odometer reading of 78,000, at the price of $4900.

However, the carfax reports it as 230k. (They did not hide this in their craigslist post, thankfully.). I asked about this, and the current owner hasn't had it very long, but here's the email we exchanged regarding that:
The odometer is reading just under 78,000 right now. Carfax shows it consistently going up to 230k miles. This vehicle started out as a corporate vehicle so I think that is why it had so many miles, the good thing about that is it was always serviced on time and Carfax even shows regular maintenance and oil changes at dealerships up until last year, which is when someone bought it and I'm assuming messed with the odometer to get the IMA battery fixed under warranty. I'm surprised Honda still replaced the battery, but I have the paperwork showing it was done in March of this year. There has only been about 5,000 miles put on the car this year.

This car blue books for around $8500 with only 77,000 miles and about $5300 with 230,000 miles. The clutch, transmission, steering, brakes... everything feels great on this car. The engine even looks great, especially for having that many miles on it. We haven't had this car for very long, but we had it checked out at the Honda dealership and another mechanic shop here in Mesa before we bought it. We planned on keeping it for a while, but this is a 3rd car for us and with another baby on the way, we could use the money.

Let me know if you have any other questions. I know the mileage is confusing. I don't even know if the engine has been replaced... which is possible too.