HCH I-Specific Discussions Model Years 2003–2005

Newbie - MPG advice needed

Search this Thread

Old 01-07-2009, 07:41 PM
Enthusiast
Unhappy Newbie - MPG advice needed

Hi, I am new to the Green Hybrid forums and need advice. I am the original owner of a 2005 Honda Civic Hybrid and I live in the Twin Cities area of Minnesota. My car has about 48000 miles and up until September 08 I averaged about 50-53 MPG’s in the warmer temps and about 41-49 in the cooler temps, just depends on how cold it is. Currently I am averaging 34.

Back in June 08 I had to get new tires because a nail had punctured an area that made it impossible to repair. I did a lot of research and finally decided on Bridgestone Insignia SE200 bought at Firestone. I was expecting the MPG’s to go down, but it didn’t, it pretty much stayed the same. In September, I brought my car to Firestone thinking an oil change and alignment would be cheaper. Right away my MPG started acting funny. I gave it a couple weeks to see if it would somehow work itself back to normal. I wasn’t confident that Firestone actually put the correct oil in and not seeing any change, I brought it to the dealer to have the oil changed.

Other things I have tried:
Changed the air filter (found 2 pieces of corn in the housing), tires are at 40 (max is 44), checked the oil level to make sure it isn’t overfull, brought back to Firestone to check the alignment – it was fine and they used the same standards as the dealer.
Brought it into the dealer and had them hook it up to diagnostic and they downloaded some kind of update, but found no other problems. Checked the EGR, parking brake, made sure there were no obstructions beyond the air filter, and finally an alignment.