HCH I-Specific Discussions Model Years 2003–2005

Oil Changes

Search this Thread

Old 12-20-2007, 06:02 PM
Enthusiast
Question Oil Changes

I'm new to this and haven't had to change the oil yet...

How much does Honda charge for an oil change ('03 Civic Hybrid)?

Are there alternative places to get the oil changed?

I take my Jeep to Walmart to get the oil changed but am willing to learn to do it myself for the Civic... Is this an easy task?

Thanks,

-Aimee (California)

Old 12-20-2007, 07:42 PM
Active Enthusiast
Default Re: Oil Changes

Hi Aimee and welcome!
I have a 2003 as well that I purchased in 2005. I have done all of the oil changes on it myself. It is easy if you don't mind getting a little bit dirty. I would stick with the Honda filter and either get some 5W20 or 0W20 oil. I always cheat on the oil. I use 1 liter of
0W20 and 3 liters of 5W20 in the winter. In the summer I only use 5W20. I find that the
0W20 is just so expensive. I can't justify the cost.
You next have to take off the engine cover underneath of the engine. That is the dirty part! Then simply use your socket on the oil drain plug and let it all drain out. Replace crush washer on the oil plug if you want. I have had the same one in for at least five oil changes. No leaks yet! Remove and change your oil filter. Coat the rubber gasket of the filter with oil prior to installation. Then pour in whatever brand golden oil you want to purchase.
Check out all of the posts on Bob Is The Oil Guy site. They go into great detail of dino verses synthetic. Put your bottom cover back on and you are all set. It can take as little as 15 minutes or an hour. It all depends on how long you let it drain. Have fun, it is a great car.

Old 12-20-2007, 07:54 PM
Think green.

Sometimes the dealerships have a decent price. My dealer sent an e-mail offer with a coupon for an oil change for the price of $25.95.