HCH II-Specific Discussions Model Years 2006-2011

07 HCH IMA battery dump tire issue

Search this Thread

Old 09-26-2010, 01:37 PM
Enthusiast
Default 07 HCH IMA battery dump low mpg tire issue

Ok so here is may story a little background for me in a nutshell I have been a mechanic for 10 years a former Honda tech and currently a reserve officer and Hyundai tech.
So doing the part time police officer gig on the weekends I travel a lot so I decided to buy a 07 HCH.

After I got it I noticed it wasn’t getting very good mileage. I did some looking on the Internet and found the 33mpg horror stores on a few hybrid forums and I figured I just made a 16k dollar mistake. I had the battery dump issue and still do and the low SOC The terrible update had been performed before I bought it.
So to make a long story short I called Honda customer relations 2 times with no real answer and the first guy acted like he could care less about my car that is supposed to get 40+ in town that was actually getting 29 to 32 mpg in town.
The IMA battery stayed at 5 to 3 bars ALL the time never ever ever ever saw 6 bars much less 7 or 8 so I figured the IMA battery was toast or the nasty update was screwing it. 4 trips to the Honda dealer I worked at once upon a time with no real results other than the “we checked it no problems found “ routine I decided to do a little experiment.

I set out a 14.5-mile track though town that included some stop and go traffic and hills with some straight stretches too.

Here were the results
2010 new off the lot HCH 45.3 mpg
My 2007 HCH 32.6 MPG

After driving my HCH for 1000 + miles I was use to the way it drove I noticed a large difference in the way the 2 cars drove the 2011 felt like it just rolled better.
Going up hills it would charge the IMA id never see that in mine so my next experiment was to ask the dealer if they would swap wheels with me, they thought I was nuts but they did it for me.

The results were astonishing!