HCH II-Specific Discussions Model Years 2006-2011

17inch rims on an HCHII?

Search this Thread

Old 08-06-2008, 12:45 PM
Enthusiast
Default 17inch rims on an HCHII?

Hi guys,

I'm new to these forums but I have been hypermiling my HCHII since I got it a few months ago. Recently I came across some nice 17 inch rims that I really like so I was wondering...will the 17 inch rims be bad for the suspension or any other part of the car? and how big of a hit in FE can I expect? The rims are 17 inch 6 spoke rims from an 05 Acura TSX .

Thanks for your help,
-Bill

Old 08-06-2008, 12:56 PM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast
Default Re: 17inch rims on an HCHII?

Will they even fit?

Old 08-06-2008, 12:59 PM
Excited to have it!

I don't know if they will rub, but it probably depends on what tires you put on them. You could try to keep the overall diameter to stay constant, so you won't screw up your speedo- and odometer.

What counts for FE is 'unsprung weight' and rolling resistance. Your HCH has very lightweight rims and lightweight, Low rolling resistance tires.

How much do the rims weigh and what kind of tires are you thinking?

I love the OEM hybrid rims...I've thought of putting them on my wife's Civic LX

Old 08-06-2008, 01:08 PM
Enthusiast

Thanks for the quick reply guys!

I got the idea from another forum online where some guy put the exact same rims on his Honda Civic + lowered it (http://www.8thcivic.com/forums/wheel...th-gen-16.html its the post by "ZestJDM") and still had no rubbing so I think fit and rubbing won't be a problem. The guy who is selling the rims is including the OEM tires from the TSX which are michelin 215/50/17. I'm not sure about weight but they are likely heavier than the aluminum alloy OEMS from the HCH. Good idea? or should I downscale and go for the 16 inch EX wheels?

Old 08-06-2008, 01:12 PM
Enthusiast

even if they fit without rubbing you are going to be losing some mpg's. What’s more important to you looks or mpg's?