HCH II-Specific Discussions Model Years 2006-2011

Battery refurbish in process - IMAX B6

Search this Thread

Old 08-25-2011, 12:00 PM
Active Enthusiast
Default Re: Battery refurbish in process - IMAX B6

Hi Red,

Everybody listen up... I'm no expert here. :-) I'm just a do-it-yourselfer trying to save a buck. I'm not stupid either but I can be naieve. I make mistakes and have made some costly ones.

That said, I've done some homework. I know something about electricity and electronics. I've rebuilt way too many combustion engines to recall how many (mostly Hondas) and know my way around the shop and which end to hold a screwdriver (not the pointy end). I'm a mechanical designer by trade and do alright for an old guy without a college degree. I've dabble in lots of things from sugar based rocket fuel to solar water heating. This is just one more of those things to dabble in.

So thank you Red for your kind words. I appreciate them. I just don't want to sound like someone really smart. No... not me. I've just got a Walmart wallet. I fix things cause I just plain have to. Who's got money these days. I have 3/5's of my family in college or private school. Holy CRAP! :-)

But I also enjoy the challenge.

So... here's the thing. I can't fix a bad battery. Pretty much nobody can. You can kick them around with a bit of electricity and maybe give them a bit more life, but chemistry is chemistry and when they wear out they're pretty much done.

The trick is to find the ones that have or are starting to give up. I'll cull the bad ones and put together a package of good ones. Used yes.... but still good. When I'm finished I do not expect to have a "like new" battery. But I don't think I need a new battery to see a nice improvement. That's what we'll find out together.

I appologise for not getting pictures up yet. I promise to have some for you by weeks end. Big party goings on for my teenage son along with a serious house cleaning. I'll work it in there somewhere.