HCH II-Specific Discussions Model Years 2006-2011

Newbie looking at ‘08 HCH

Search this Thread

Old 06-11-2019, 03:10 PM
Enthusiast
Default Newbie looking at ‘08 HCH

Hi All,

I’m a newbie, looking to buy a used 2008 HCH. It has 200,000 miles on it, appears to be the original battery. I test drove for about 20 minutes, both city and highway. Battery appeared to charge and assist just fine. Auto-stop was working as well.

Anyone have advice or things I should check out before making the purchase? It’s a good price, so even if I need to get a refurbished battery in a couple years, it’s probably still worthwhile.

thanks in advance!

Old 06-11-2019, 06:45 PM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast
Default Re: Newbie looking at ‘08 HCH

Run as fast as you can. If your goal is cheap, reliable and fuel efficient transportation, wrong car. So wrong. At 200K your maintenance risk is extremely high.

Refurbs don't last very long. You need to be okay with spending another $2K or so within 30 days of purchase.

I owned 2X '06. I wouldn't take a free one in perfect working order. Well, okay, I would, but I'd sell it the day after.

Old 06-11-2019, 08:04 PM
Enthusiast

Originally Posted by S Keith
Run as fast as you can. If your goal is cheap, reliable and fuel efficient transportation, wrong car. So wrong. At 200K your maintenance risk is extremely high.

Refurbs don't last very long. You need to be okay with spending another $2K or so within 30 days of purchase.

I owned 2X '06. I wouldn't take a free one in perfect working order. Well, okay, I would, but I'd sell it the day after.

Thanks for the info! Not necessarily what I was hoping to hear, but useful information nonetheless. Are you talking about maintenance issues beyond battery replacement? I’m used to Hondas running forever, but maybe that’s not the case with the HCH II models?

Old 06-11-2019, 08:17 PM

CVT
HV Battery
Inverter
A/C compressor