HCH II-Specific Discussions Model Years 2006-2011

Wanting to squeeze more life out of a dying battery

Search this Thread

Old 09-09-2017, 03:03 PM
Enthusiast
Default Wanting to squeeze more life out of a dying battery

Hi

I just inherited a 2007 HCH with the understanding that the IMA battery needs to be replaced. I am looking for advice on how to delay the inevitable.

I am new to hybrids and have spent a few hours reading this and other forums and have picked up some understanding, and hope to avoid asking questions that have been answered a thousand times.

I have seen several references to the process of disconnecting the negative terminal of the 12v battery, then starting the car (but not driving it) and leaving it to idle until it stops charging, repeating this procedure 3 times. I have just done that, but haven't driven it yet and don't plan to drive any more today, so I can't offer any report of results yet.

Assuming I notice some improvement after this, what else should I do until I am ready to replace the battery?
I don't need to drive this car at all until I turn my Golf TDI in to VW as part of their buyback of cheating diesels, which is when I will have money to buy a battery for this car.

So meanwhile, should I leave the Civic parked most of the time?
Unhook both or either batteries/battery and leave it parked entirely for the next several months?

Or should I drive it regularly to maintain a charge, repeating the procedure [12v disconnect 3x] frequently?

Here's some background if it helps:

The few times I have driven the car, I have sometimes seen the engine light illuminated, but never the IMA light (other than at startup when all indicator lights are illuminated). No service codes have shown up.

However, the car behaves in all the ways frequent contributor (here and elsewhere) S Keith attributes to a "severely deteriorated" battery: