True MPG with the AC running in a hot climate

Search this Thread

Old 07-05-2007, 10:01 AM
Need a Plug
Default True MPG with the AC running in a hot climate

The Nissan Altima Hybrid Has electrically driven, Power steering and Air Conditioner compressor. So no help there. As I said i will dump it. Going to wait until the new Pirus comes out and see what it is. This thing is a joke. I appreciate the encouragement. I have been monitoring a friends Pirus (3 doors away) he gets 36.8 with the AC and same type of driving I do so that is about 22% better. The Altima is In my opinion at least 22% more vehicle, weight, air drag, cross section. tire drag, volume to condition and importantly bigger ICE it all adds up.

I don't believe the technology can do much better than it is doing. We need diesel engine powered Li-Po battery combination to truly achieve the 50-55 in my area and my kind of driving (normal) for a Pirus and about 40-50 in a Altima.

I really would have waited but I am a tech guy (retired NASA and all that stuff) and 72 and don't have time to wait 10 years for the more refined stuff to arrive.

I do believe the battery management could be better and should also be larger. Too many compromises having to be made at this stage. It is a many parted system and that idiot Goshen does not like to spend any money. I need to monitor the Camry site more closely and see how they are doing. I doubt it is more than 1 to 2 mpg better but 1 to 2 is nice. You have to be very carefully what you believe folks tend to extend a bit.

Old 07-05-2007, 04:55 PM
Enthusiast
Default Re: True MPG with the AC running in a hot climate

Don,

I guess that insane desert heat is just tooooooo much, if a Prius is only getting 36 mpg I think you have answered your own question!

How much do you want for the car? Color? Payments?

Old 07-05-2007, 05:16 PM
Active Enthusiast

Don,