Honda Motor Company/Acura Honda hybrids

Plug In Question

Old 04-28-2009, 05:17 AM
Enthusiast
Default Plug In Question

I have read where people have said a plug in future for Honda's IMA system is not really practicable due to the electric motor size, but have a question.

Shouldn't it be possible to use a larger battery with plugin capabilities with more aggressive assist programmed in. Even if the car is not capable of fully recharging the battery under normal circumstances you could just have the amount of assist reduced.

Ex: Assume vehicle is capable of recharging the battery to 50%. As long as the battery is over 50% assist is set to aggressive once it falls below 50% assist is set back to normal.

I'm not an expert in battery technology by any means so feel free to correct my assumptions.

Old 04-29-2009, 07:29 AM
Pretty Darn Active Enthusiast
Default Re: Plug In Question

It can't be done because of the size of the electric motor, all the battery power in the world will not cause a 20 hp motor to power the car from standstill.
20 hp is for assist, it adds a nice bottom line to the tourque, it can help the car glide where little power is needed but if you have read the complaints of poor acceleration with a low battery using the gas engine, well, if 90 isn't enough, what would 20 do?
An example, is watch your instant mileage, start from stop, 3-5 bars, once you reach speed, it goes to the 3/4 mark, while not directly, the need for fuel is about oppisite of your gas mileage, more power, lower mpg, less power higher mpg...I hope this makes sense coming from my non tech. brain.

Old 04-29-2009, 03:00 PM
Enthusiast

Sorry if I did not make myself clear. I was not talking about powering the car solely on battery and I understand that FE drops when the battery is depleted. I was thinking more along the lines of extending the assist capabilities of the existing motor before regen was needed.