'06 Mariner driveability problem, just purchased

Search this Thread

Old 01-22-2019, 05:19 AM
Enthusiast
Default '06 Mariner driveability problem, just purchased

Hello, I'm a former pro foreign-car mechanic & still have my tools, a lift, etc. to do most any mechanical repairs. I just purchased a 2006 Mariner Hybrid with 188K miles. Everything was great for 3 days/200 miles. Yesterday, temps dropped to -10. Stopped at a lumber yard for 30 minutes. When I drove away, the wrench icon came on. Soon after, the engine icon also lit & it lost power, but would still move at 10 mph. Pulled over, turned the key off for 10 minutes. Started, drove a short distance, same symptom again. Let it sit for 20 minutes, started & drove 4 miles home, both icons still lit. Attached my Autel ML629 scanner & got the following codes0221-FF,
P1000 FF, P2110 FF, P2111 FF, P2112 FF, P2135 FF Codes all seem to refer to TPS/TB issues. I'm going to replace the TPS & clean the TB this morning & hope for the best. Also going to check the battery filter. I noticed the display below the tach lights-up but has never displayed any information. Is this normal or did somebody disconnect it? The truck is in great shape & looks to be well cared for by the previous (one) owner. Truck is in great working order & drove perfectly for 3 snow-covered days. I really like this vehicle & hope it's not going to be unreliable.

Old 01-22-2019, 07:27 AM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast
Default Re: '06 Mariner driveability problem, just purchased

Before you do anything... Forscan.

I wouldn't trust your scanner to correctly read ALL codes.

Ensure the 12V battery is 100% healthy via load test.

Old 01-22-2019, 08:12 AM
Enthusiast

Thank you! I’ll seek out a Ford Dealer with some hybrid experience to diagnose my issue

Old 01-22-2019, 08:37 AM

Umm... no. Really? How did you get "go find a dealer" from my post?