Testing 185k mile battery

Search this Thread

Old 02-14-2019, 01:53 PM
Active Enthusiast
Default Testing 185k mile battery

My Yukon hybrid was been awesome for 185K miles, but recently repeatedly has coded P0AC4 Hybrid Powertrain CM Requested MIL, P0A80) Replace Hybrid Battery Pack, and P0BBD Hybrid Battery Pack Voltage Variation Exceeded Limit (Current). It also did the various crazy lurching and other funny issues. I have unplugged Hybrid Battery, replaced 12V battery, but still get repeated codes although seemingly driving "ok". I was confident the battery pack was going bad, and ordered a new GM one, which has come in today.
Since inquiring minds want to know, and as I am an industrial electrician and qualified (and worked for 40 years at the Delco Electronics plant where and in the department that a lot of the research on these and the Impact were done), I opened the battery pack and to my surprise recorded 318 VDC across the pack. Now I am wondering if I actually have battery issues or a control issue. Is 318 VDC higher or at normal levels? I don't have the equipment at home to do full testing and discharging, but want to feel ok to pick up the new battery.

Old 02-14-2019, 04:52 PM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast
Default Re: Testing 185k mile battery

Not sure why you started another thread. Did you just not like my response?

As you likely know, a battery or a cell's voltage tells you almost nothing except confirming that you don't have a COMPLETELY dead cell. An old worn-out 12V battery may show a very healthy 12.6V just sitting there, but the moment you hit it with a 100A load tester (or try to start a car with it), it falls flat on its face with massive voltage drop due to one or more nearly dead cells... that still hold SOME charge at rest.