Can I plug in my FEH?

Search this Thread

Old 02-27-2011, 04:09 AM
Enthusiast
Default Can I plug in my FEH?

I am new to owning a hybrid. Recently I saw were there was a conversion to a Prius that allowed the owner to plug the car in and boost the mpg. Is there such a thing for the Escape? Thanks. Dan

Old 02-27-2011, 05:45 AM
Active Enthusiast
Default Re: Can I plug in my FEH?

was this it?
http://www.enginer.us/

Old 02-27-2011, 10:19 AM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast

Originally Posted by bbqdan
I am new to owning a hybrid. Recently I saw were there was a conversion to a Prius that allowed the owner to plug the car in and boost the mpg. Is there such a thing for the Escape? Thanks. Dan
I think I would first consider a tagalong trailer with a highly efficient (miller cycle?) ~25HP genset running on CNG.

Old 02-27-2011, 03:21 PM
Curmudgeon

All joking aside, the Enginer system can boost the mpg, but only if your driving maximizes it's input (ie no lead footing). The Escape is a heavy SUV and it's difficult to get a huge boost from just electrical power unless you use hypermiling techniques. My Escape gets a 25-35% (better in warm weather) boost from the 4kwh enginer kit so instead of 30mpg I'm getting 40-45mpg. ROI would not favor its installation at this point unless your state has tax credits or your ROI equation involves a "feel good" factor.

Old 02-28-2011, 05:14 PM

Originally Posted by bbqdan

YES but... it could easily cost $30,000+. Hybrid-Plus out of Boulder, Co. did several conversions starting back in 2007. Our GPS1man actually had inside information, drove one of the first conversion and provided a detailed report on his experience. Hybrid-Plus has merged/reorganized with a new name at http://www.eetrex.com/plugin/. Hymotion had shown a conversion but never delievered a retail kit for consumers to purchase for the Escape unlike the Prius owners who have this option. Cost continues to be an issue.

Old 02-28-2011, 06:23 PM
Curmudgeon

@BillyK