Electric Vehicle Forums

Electric Vehicle Forums (/forums/)
-   HCH I-Specific Discussions (https://electricvehicleforums.com/forums/hch-i-specific-discussions-50/)
-   -   HCH-I IMA and charging issues (https://electricvehicleforums.com/forums/hch-i-specific-discussions-50/hch-i-ima-charging-issues-31142/)

plauer 03-22-2017 06:08 PM

HCH-I IMA and charging issues

Hi,
I just bought a 2004 Honda Civic Hybrid with some issues.
The car came with a spare battery, actually the whole rear bench. Previous owner got overwhelmed with the installation after he got the battery.

I'm new to Hybrids, the car shows the IMA light on, the MIL on, and the battery charging light on.
Reading the trouble codes says P1600 and P1559, looks like the NIMH battery really is bad.
The 12V battery is at 10V when the car is running.

Two questions for starters:
Will the 12V battery only charge through the IMA, there is no 12V alternator?

Before I replace the NIMH battery, is there anyway to check if its ok?
Peter

S Keith 03-22-2017 08:14 PM

Re: HCH-I IMA and charging issues

P1559 is generally not battery related: Motor commutation sensor A – circuit low input Wiring, motor control module (MCM) programming, MCM, motor commutation sensor, drive plate sensor.

Could be bad wiring from a critter's nibbles or a bad sensor.

1) No alternator. DC-DC converter to charge 12V w/HV. When inop, you usually see a red battery light on the dash. Rev to 2000 rpm and hold for 30 seconds. See if red light goes out, or if you get charging voltage at the 12V. When things get amuck, charging may be limited to about 1500-3500rpm with no charging outside that range.

2) Check 10X voltages to see if any of the cells have failed or if the pack is severely imbalanced:

https://www.greenhybrid.com/forums/f...tml#post261753

This will tell you if there are gross problems. Good voltages do not indicate a good pack, they just indicate there are no obvious failures.