Electric Vehicle Forums

Electric Vehicle Forums (/forums/)
-   HCH II-Specific Discussions (https://electricvehicleforums.com/forums/hch-ii-specific-discussions-51/)
-   -   Installing used AC compressor (https://electricvehicleforums.com/forums/hch-ii-specific-discussions-51/installing-used-ac-compressor-33067/)

sonofray 07-30-2022 10:56 AM

Installing used AC compressor

I'm told my 07 HCH needs a new AC compressor. My mechanic and I were horrified at the price and/or availability of a new one (I'm pretty new to working on hybrids). I now have a used one in good shape.

After reading a LOT of information on this and other forums, I think I know the install process (evac,, install, vacuum, charge.) and parts (compressor, o-rings, condenser, drier, maybe expansion valve)

I'm willing to roll the dice a little on the used compressor, but id like know what's the best way to do my due diligence and:
  1. test it as much as I can, and
  2. prepare it for install
I've turned the clutch and felt suction in the right way from high/low ports. Not sure how to test electrical/clutch

thanks and blessings for whatever you can offer.

S Keith 07-31-2022 10:49 PM

Re: Installing used AC compressor

Get a manual and shim the clutch properly. I had to break down the old and the "new" to get the spacing right.

Use only equipment that has only been used on hybrid electric A/C compressors. New vacuum pump and new manifold gauges.

sonofray 08-01-2022 04:39 PM

Originally Posted by S Keith (Post 275586)
Get a manual and shim the clutch properly. I had to break down the old and the "new" to get the spacing right.

Use only equipment that has only been used on hybrid electric A/C compressors. New vacuum pump and new manifold gauges.

Thank you! Are you taking about Honda service manual? (Forgive me). Are their 3rd party manuals?

Also, unfortunately there’s a huge lack of clutch/compressor rebuild kits for this model and part. I’ll need to just clean up and test what I have.