HCH II-Specific Discussions Model Years 2006-2011

Regen Braking HCH-II

Search this Thread

Old 06-26-2006, 03:42 AM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast
Default Re: Regen Braking HCH-II

Originally Posted by Aussie

For the first 2-3 miles (morning & night), I'm driving uphill! That means the car is cold and it will use the gas motor with auto choke no doubt, so it's probably operating the least efficiently!
There ya go- a dominant (but not 100%) reason. The engine is always on for the 1st few miles anyway, but uphill, you're really suffering a lack of FE. And down around 45degF is where temp inefficiencies become really noticeable.

Old 06-27-2006, 11:22 AM
Enthusiast

As regards the fuel consumption figures I at least can understand Aussie. Obviously Australia uses the same gallon that the UK does.

I'm an advanced driver who already has the anticipation and smooth driving sorted. I stick to speed limits (or lower if commuting) but I do prefer to get off the mark quickly (often redlining in 2nd on my way to 60mph). I am currently /almost/ getting 45mpg (9.46miles per litre) from my '02 1.6l Civic with a/c on full time.

I'll be very interested to see how much better the HCHII is for me. I'm not going to stop using the A/C so I doubt I'll be a chart topper. On the hour test drive I got the car up from 42mpg to 48mpg.

Old 06-27-2006, 04:45 PM
The Devil's in the detail

This is really driving me crazy.

My fuel consumption figures are all over the place like a dogs breakfast!

I can only think that it has something to do with the way I'm filling up. But once the filler "clicks" off for the first time, I can't get much more than a litre more in. So I can't be that far off!

For example. Fuel was cheap today so I decided to top up.

12.63 Litres (3.33 U.S. Gallons) and I had travelled 310k (194 miles)

This equals = 4.074 L/100Klm's 'or' 58mpg....correct?

Yet -

1/ I am usually getting around 5.4 L/100Klm (calculated)